The Lawyer Show is Nightwood’s main annual fundraiser. Every year, supported by a team of directors, designers and vocal coaches, over 40 members of the legal community rehearse for three months to be able to stage an exhilarating, entertaining, professionally led production.

Since the Lawyer Show’s inception in 2010, some 300 legal professionals have appeared in 11 shows to raise more than $1,265,000 in support of Nightwood.

This season we are producing our first audio recording for the 2021 Lawyer Show! In June 2021, look forward to The Stars of Mars, a new Toronto-born musical comedy.

The Stars Of Mars

Book and Lyrics by Ashley Botting (Second City Toronto) | Music and Lyrics by Daniel Abrahamson (Musical Director, Boy Falls From The Sky)

Being entirely responsive to COVID protocols, we look forward to hosting the 2021 Lawyer Show rehearsals over Zoom, facilitating safe, professional-quality recording sessions. The final recording will be launched in June 2021.

The Stars of Mars is a new homegrown musical comedy set inside the first human colony on Mars, about a mother and daughter who are worlds apart. When Heather, the first human born on Mars, begins to ask questions about where she’s from, the astronauts and scientists decide to put on a show about the Earth they’ve all left behind. The Stars of Mars is a hilarious feminist musical about family, the future, our precious planet, and the rocket science required to put on a show in space.

This Toronto-born musical was developed for Sheridan College’s Canadian Music Theatre Project – just like another musical you may have heard of, called Come From Away!

Support of the Lawyer Show audio recording of The Stars of Mars will go directly towards supporting local Toronto artists. Click here for information on how you can help champion this project!

For more information on how you can support the Lawyer Show Cabaret with a donation, sponsorship or silent auction prize, please contact Victoria Laberge, Director of Development, at

Join our newsletter!