The Lawyer Show is Nightwood’s main annual fundraiser. Every year, supported by a team of directors, designers and vocal coaches, over 30 members of the legal community rehearse for three months to be able to stage an exhilarating, entertaining, professionally led production.

Since the Lawyer Show’s inception in 2010,
some 300 legal professionals have appeared in 12 shows
to raise more than $1,344,000 in support of Nightwood.

This season we are returning to the stage for the 2022 Lawyer Show!
We invite you to join us for for The World Goes ‘Round, a stunning musical revue, May 12th to 14th at the Jane Mallett Theatre in The St. Lawrence Centre for the Arts.

The World Goes 'ROund

Book and Lyrics by Fred Ebb
Music by John Kander
Conceived by Scott Ellis, Susan Stroman, David Thompson

May 12 – 14, 2022
Directed and Choreographed by Sedina Fiati*
Music Direction by Alexa Belgrave
Assistant Directed and Choreographed by Brittany Banks*
Assistant Musical Direction by Melissa Morris
Stage Managed by Hazel Moore
Assistant Stage Managed by Reva Lokhande

*The participation of these Artists are arranged by the permission of Canadian Actors’ Equity Association under the provisions of the Dance-Opera-Theatre Policy.

Enter the world of distinguished and celebrated writing team, Kander and Ebb. The World Goes ‘Round is a stunning revue of the songbook from the multi-Tony award-winning team, with the original production winning three Drama Desk Awards.

Filled with humor, romance, drama and nonstop melody, this title is a celebration of life and the fighting spirit that keeps us all going. The many characters find themselves careening through the world of love, careers and coffee. From Cabaret to Chicago, the nonstop hit-parade features unforgettable gems, including “Mr. Cellophane,” “Maybe This Time,” “Cabaret” and “New York, New York,” seamlessly interwoven into a passionate, harmonious, up-tempo evening of musical theatre.

Please note, due to some content this show is recommended for audiences over the age of 13.

The World Goes ‘Round is presented through special arrangement with Musical Theatre International (MTI). All authorized performance materials are also supplied by MTI. 

Support of the Lawyer Show production of The World Goes ‘Round will go directly towards supporting future productions community programs at Nightwood Theatre. Click here for information on how you can help champion this project!

As part of our fundraising efforts Nightwood will be holding a 50/50 Draw at each performance of The World Goes ‘Round! Click here to learn more!

With the health, safety, and comfort of our audiences, staff, and artists as our top priority, Nightwood will require proof of vaccination (at least two doses) for all audience members over the age of 12 at all performances. The Front of House team at the St. Lawrence Centre will be checking for proof of vaccination at the entrance to the Jane Mallett lobby once patrons enter past the box office. We will be capping audience capacity at 50% of the house. Also, The St. Lawrence Centre for the Arts is equipped with Poppy, a pathogen sensing and detection network that is an early warning system for invisible pathogens like Covid-19.

While the St. Lawrence Centre is unable to enforce a mask mandate for audiences at their venue, we strongly encourage the use of masks by all patrons.

Please get in touch if you have questions or concerns regarding our COVID-19 protocol by emailing Nightwood Theatre’s Head of Development, Erika Morey, at

2022 cast & Band

Alexandra Mealia – Royal Bank of Canada
Angela Zhu – OPSEU / SEFPO
April Maurer – Government of Ontario
Astrid Mrkich – Mrkich Law
Brookelyn Kirkham – Polley Faith LLP
Christian Baes – Mondelēz International
Christine Doucet – Children’s Aid Society of Toronto
Craig Allardyce – CI Financial
Dany Horovitz – TD Bank Group
David Mills – Mills & Mills LLP
Edina Cavalli – TD Bank Group
Emma Romano – WeirFoulds LLP
Garrett Zehr – Legal Aid Ontario
Heidi LeBlanc – Carters Professional Corporation
Henry Gluch – Department of Justice
Ilana Ludwin – Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt LLP
Jennifer Whincup – ADP Canada Co.
John McGowan – Cassels Brock & Blackwell LLP
Joshua Zung – Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP
Kaley Duff – Cavalluzzo LLP
Kate McNeece Cruess – McCarthy Tetrault
Khrystina McMillan – Mathers McHenry & Co.
Leah Cummings – Rayman Beitchman LLP
Rona Ghanbari – Stikeman Elliott LLP
Russell Silverstein
Sharlene Atkins – BMO
Steven Kennedy – Cassels Brock & Blackwell, LLP
Stewart Cruikshank
Tamara Thomas – Immigration and Refugee Board of Canada
Tracy Pratt – Fasken
Valérie Duchesneau – Ministry of Finance
Valérie Lord – Howie, Sacks and Henry LLP

Thank you to the 2022 Lawyer Show donors!

Anonymous (in support of Edina Cavalli), Wasseim Al zouabi (in support of Valérie Duchesneau), Craig Allardyce, Sharlene Atkins, Christian Baes, Alma Bjelosevic, Ryan Campbell, Edina Cavalli, Stewart Cruikshank, Leah Cummings, Sabina Delvecchio, Matthew DesRosiers, Christine Doucet, Valérie Duchesneau, Kaley Duff, Matt Fowler (in support of Edina Cavalli), Rona Ghanbari, Jean Gourdeau, Dany Horovitz, Steven Kennedy, Brookelyn Kirkham, Marsha Klerer (in support of David Mills), Heidi LeBlanc, Valérie Lord, April Maurer, Khrystina McMillan, Kate McNeece Cruess, Alex Mealia, David Mills, Jane Mills, Astrid Mrkich, Dan Murdoch, Tracy Pratt, Jacquie Robison (in support of Valérie Duchesneau), Emma Romano, Michael Schechter (in support of Edina Cavalli), Marie Schram (in support of Alex Mealia), Tamara Lisa Thomas, Suzanne Thompson (in support of Christian Baes), Jennifer Whincup, Katie Wilson (in support of Emma Romano), Richard Worsfold (in support of David Mills), Garrett Zehr, Angela Zhu, Joshua Zung

Last updated May 30, 2022. If your name has been misspelled or omitted, please accept our sincere apologies, and please don’t hesitate to reach out to Amanda Lin, Development & Engagement Associate, at amanda [at] nightwoodtheatre [dot] net.

For more information on how you can support the Lawyer Show with a donation, sponsorship or silent auction prize, please contact Erika Morey, Head of Development, at

Join our newsletter!